I am totally not dead.

IMG_6524In fact, I’m alive and doing better than I have in agessssssss. For seriously.

Thank you all for sticking around, for subscribing to my (now quarterly) newsletter, and otherwise being patient while I navigate a brand new, jam-packed schedule and lots of new, exciting obligations.

First off, I’m now writing a witchcraft blog over at Patheos Pagan, which is my most exciting piece of news. I started in April and I’m very pleased to be able to say that I’m having fun and kicking ass, blogging alongside of folks like Jason Mankey, Ian Corrigan, Lupa Greenwolf, and John Beckett. The focus of my blog, Oathbound, is traditional witchcraft and Wicca, but there are plenty of awesome writers representing a number of traditions. So if you have any interest in contemporary Paganism, Heathen traditions, magic, and witchcraft, you’d be doing yourself a big favor to head on over.

I’m also excited to announce that the second issue of my coven’s zine, The Burning Times, is out! It’s a tongue-in-cheek throwback to the nineties, full of legit magical whatnot as well as plenty of satire specifically tailored for those with a keen interest in traditional Wicca and the heyday of the American occult scene. If you collect old issues of Earth Religion News and wish that you’d been around to hang out at Magickal Childe (or maybe you did), we’re right up your alley. We’re also sure to please former nineties teen witches, secretly hoarding copies of Silver RavenWolf’s Witches’ Chillers series and watching The Craft once a week while wishing for midnight margaritas. You can order your copies of the first two issues here, with free shipping in the US!

On a more personal note, I’m now working at an elementary school and pursuing teacher licensure. As you can probably imagine, that keeps me super busy (as well as tired, exasperated, a little under-the-weather, and weirdly sticky practically all the time). I don’t have as much time for walk-in client readings at the shop, but I’m still available by appointment and online!

I’m also keeping up with my studies with Wald Amberstone through Tarot School. In fact, I just received my first correspondence course certificate in the mail and I’m totally pumped about it because I’ve been working my ass off over here. One of these days I’ll write a thorough review of this course, but suffice it to say that it’s the most comprehensive, intense program I’ve ever seen on tarot (or even in most of my schooling career, on any subject) and it’s been well worth the price tag (cheaper and so far with a much higher return value than anything I did in grad school). I’m currently working through an interim lesson on tarot and Qabalah, which is really pushing me beyond anything I’ve done before.

Back in April, I also took the Secrets of the Waite-Smith Tarot video course over at Tarot Association, with Marcus Katz and Tali Goodwin (and holy crap I’m looking at this listing for the first time in months and the cost has, like, quadrupled). I still haven’t gotten to the book, but it is sitting on my shelf (which is sort of like reading, right?).

I’m working on reviving things over here at Tarot Skeptic, so hang on. I’m just finding my footing again before summer really gets to be in full swing. Look for a bunch of new deck showcases (because the collecting madness never stops), new blogs about stuff (also things!), and new readings available in the shop.

As always, check me out on Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, and (now! new! mixed feelings!) Facebook.

Leave a Reply

